Click Here For Free Blog Backgrounds!!!
Blogaholic Designs

Tuesday, November 27, 2012

Fire of the Raging Dragon

Don Brown, a former U.S. Navy JAG Officer, is the author of Zondervan’s riveting NAVY JUSTICE SERIES, a dynamic storyline chronicling the life and adventures of JAG officer ZACK BREWER. In 2003, Don began writing TREASON, his first novel in the NAVY JUSTICE SERIES.
After TREASON was published to rave reviews in 2005, drawing comparisons to the writing style of John Grisham, Don Brown was named as co-chairman of national I LOVE TO WRITE DAY, an event recognized by the governors of nine states to promote writing throughout the nation, and especially among the nation’s schools.
HOSTAGE and DEFIANCE, the second and third novels in the series, were published in 2006 and 2007.
BLACK SEA AFFAIR, was released in June of 2008, and with a bonechilling plot and precipient accuracy of international events, has been called the “Novel that Predicted the Russian-Georgian War,” which broke out just two months later, in August of 2008!
Don’s fifth novel, THE MALACCA CONSPIRACY,  released in the summer of 2010, is an exciting geo-political thriller set in the region surrounding the Malacca Straights, and shot to the top of the Amazon best-sellers list soon after its release.
Paying no homage to political correctness, Don Brown's writing style is described as “gripping,” casting an entertaining and educational spin on a wide-range of current issues, from radicalIslamic infiltration of the military, to the explosive issue of gays in the military, to the modern day issues of presidential politics in the early 21st Century.
Don Brown graduated from the University of North Carolina in 1982, and after finishing law school, continued his post-graduate studies through the Naval War College, earning the Navy’s nonresident certificate in International Law.
During his five years on active duty in the Navy, Don served in the Pentagon, was published in the Naval Law Review, and was also a recipient of the Navy Achievement Medal, the Navy Commendation Medal, and the National Defense Service Medal.

You can connect with Mr. Brown via his Facebook page by going HERE.

In the very near future, China, now the world’s largest industrial producer and consumer of Mideast Oil, passes a law that all new cars manufactured in that nation will be operated on natural gas. Beneath the floor of the South China Sea, around the contested Spratly Islands, billions of gallons of natural gas wait to be mined.
But at the center of the Spratlys, the remote but strategic island of Itu Aba is occupied by China’s historic enemy, Taiwan.When the new, power-hungry Chinese President, Tang Qhichen, orders Chinese Naval forces to attack Taiwanese forces on Itu Aba, U.S. President Douglas Surber responds, ordering the U.S. Seventh Fleet to try and quell a burgeoning naval showdown between the two Chinas.Aboard the submarine tender U.S.S. Emory S. Land, one of the first ships in the naval war zone, is Ensign Stephanie Surber, a recent Naval Academy graduate who is also the First Daughter of the United States. After a gruesome discovery escalates America’s involvement, Stephanie’s father, U.S. President Douglas Surber, must choose to take a stand against evil … or save the life of his daughter.

You can read a sample chapter by going HERE.

You can order the book from Zondervan by going HERE.

Fire of the Raging Dragon is the second book in the Pacific Rim Series by Mr. Brown.  Zondervan sent me a complimentary copy for the purpose of review.  Brown writes a gripping and fast moving saga of war, political intrigue and crimes against humanity.  At times, the characters were hard to keep up with and the storyline was a little confusing and hard to follow.  The headings in bold print within each chapter helped a great deal with this.  This isn't your run of the mill novel that the reader quickly reads through.  Your mind has to be engaged to keep up with the action.  However, it is fast moving and Brown keeps your turning the pages until the very last one!

Happy Reading,