Click Here For Free Blog Backgrounds!!!
Blogaholic Designs

Monday, July 20, 2015

The Wonder of You

Susan May Warren is the bestselling, Christy and RITA Award - winning author of more than forty novels whose compelling plots and unforgettable characters have won acclaim with readers and reviewers alike. She spent eight years as a missionary in Russia with her husband and four children before returning to Minnesota's north shore to write full-time.

You can connect with Susan at her website found at

Mortified after her year abroad is cut short, Amelia Christiansen returns to Deep Haven, certain she isn't brave enough to embrace the adventures she's dreamed of.  The last thing she expects if for the man who broke her heart to cross the Atlantic and beg forgiveness.
Heir to a European hotel dynasty, Roark St. John has trekked from one exotic locale to another, haunted by tragedy and the expectations that accompany his last name.  Amelia is the first woman to give him a reason to stop running.  He'll do anything for a second chance - even contend with Amelia's old flame, who is intent on sending Roark packing.
While one surprise after another leaves Amelia reeling, Roark's continued presence only highlights the questions pursuing her. Like him, is she running from the life God has called her to? Could finding her place mean leaving home behind?

Susan's Launch Video from July 1st:

My Thoughts:
I have loved Warren's The Christiansen Family series!  Each book in the series has highlighted one of the Christiansen siblings...The Wonder of You is Amelia's story.  The series will end with Owen's story in You're The One That I Want in the Spring of 2016.  There are four previous books in the series.
Amelia's story is ripe with her struggle to find her way in the midst of a large family and of her learning to trust God's plans for her life.  I can identify with Amelia in many ways; particularly in being afraid of failure.  The relationship tension and Amelia's own personal struggles are almost tangible.  Warren's characters jump right off the page and into your heart.  Without being "preachy", Warren masterfully weaves faith into her stories.  Her characters and their situations are genuine, not over thought or forced.
I love the letter written to each sibling by their mother, Ingrid at the beginning of the book.  It sets the tone beautifully for the story.  While each of the books can be read as a stand-alone, I highly recommend reading the series all together beginning with Take A Chance On Me.  You will love Deep Haven and the Christiansens.

*I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher for the purpose of giving this review.  All opinions are my own.

Happy Reading Ya'll,